Why Write.as?

Before using Write.as I used to used GitHub for blog posts. It was fine and added customisability this service does not. However I found myself never posting as it involved a lot of unnecessary steps. This is clean and simple. Perfect for my needs.

Markdown

Write.as uses markdown for formatting, which I am already familiar (should probably update my CV) and even if I wasn't I could use this handy cheat sheet. This allows me to very quickly create articles and even show code in a pleasing way.

In comparison I have to write... <h1>This is a Main Heading</h1> in HTML

Where's in markdown it's this # This is a Main Heading

OR FOR A LINK

<a href="https://polyphonicwinter.com">URL NAME</a>

[URL NAME](https://polyphonicwinter.com)

ALSO I CAN EVEN USE HTML IF I PREFER!

Hidden Service

It also has it's own hidden service (writeas7pm7rcdqg.onion) so I can access from anywhere using Tor and not have to worry much. In the past I have hosted my own #tor hidden site (and still do for polyphonicwinter.com, here it is: test.onion but it has come with drawbacks.[^1]

Self Hosting

As Write.as is a federated site and uses open source code, it is possible to be able to self host in the future. Which is preferable.

Viewer Count

Is as it sounds, I can tell when someone has opened this article. Which is nice cause I can tell if anyone is out there or I am in my own 'little internet void'. Either or.

Anyway it's not as big a cop out as you may first think. So please enjoy your stay and I hope you enjoy yourself and maybe learn something new.

Liam

[^1]: Annoyingly all the services I've tried don't support hidden services as URLs. Sorry.